h1

The Blogosphere is a-twitter again, better call the NSA

August 16, 2006

The Blogosphere is a-twitter again
So there I was, on the road, trying to stop in at every blog that might hold the key to even one Michigan vote when BAM – ran smack into this Nicholas Carr person. Now, I was in a hurry, because my message of big bucks for Michigan is too important to keep waiting, but apparently this thing called “the Blogosphere” was all a-twitter over something Mr. Carr had written saying that most bloggerspherians (or whatever these people call themselves) are some kind of proletariat just hoping for a link or two from Blog Elite such as the King of France as justification for continuing their miserable existence.

He said a bunch more stuff but it was mostly big words and I don’t like big words. Then he linked to this Finkelstein or Frankenstone person who wrote:

1) I was suckered into the idea that blogs were a way to “route around” media power, and to be HEARD.

2) I had delusions of influence.

3) The random-payoff of attention makes it seem far more effective than it actually is.

4) It’s painful to admit that you’ve wasted so much time and effort and pretty much nobody is listening.

Blog evangelism is very cruel, as it preys on people’s frustrated hopes and dreams.

Something about all of this sounds very familiar. Reminds me of something, but I can’t quite put my finger on it. I’m sure it’ll come to me.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

